Download BYU Men’s Chorus CD “Set Apart”: free missionary songs


You can download the new album here.

The BYU Men’s Chorus just released their new album of hymns related to missionary work. “Set Apart: Beloved Missionary Hymns” contains 10 new missionary hymns arranged specifically for the Men’s Chorus.

Almost two-thirds of the 180 singers in the Men’s Chorus served missions for the LDS Church and many choir members are preparing to serve a mission.

The song composers gave up substantial licensing rights in order to release the album to the public for free.  Some of the composers of the songs include Matthew D. Nielsen, Lane Johnson and David Zabriskie.

Rosalind Hall is the director of the choir and said “If any group in the whole world should make a missionary CD, it’s the BYU.”

The Chair of BYU’s School of Music, Kory Katseanes said of the new album “This is a truly monumental recording that will bless and inspire many lives.”

While the previous four albums took the BYU Men’s Chorus one to two years to produce, the new missionary album was put together in about four months.  The choir wanted to put the album together before April 2013 General Conference.

I’ve downloaded the album and listened to some of the missionary hymns. The songs are beautiful arrangements of long-loved hymns.

Here’s a list of the songs available for free download:

  1. Let Zion in Her Beauty Rise
  2. I’ll Go Where You Want Me to Go
  3. Choose the Right
  4. Press Forward, Saints
  5. I Love the Lord
  6. Onward, Christian Soldiers
  7. Come, Thou Fount of Every Blessing
  8. Brightly Beams our Father’s Mercy
  9. Sweet Is the Peace the Gospel Brings
  10. Called to Serve
  11. Guide Us (becomes unlocked after you share the website on Facebook or Twitter)

Many thanks to Sister Hall and the BYU Men’s Chorus for this incredible free resource to assist in the missionary work!

5 thoughts on “Download BYU Men’s Chorus CD “Set Apart”: free missionary songs

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *